Skip to main content
menu_icon.png

Everything you need to switch from Optimizely Classic to X in one place: See the Optimizely X Web Transition Guide.

x
Optimizely Knowledge Base

Manage collaborators in Optimizely X

This article is about Optimizely X. If you're using Optimizely Classic, check this article out instead.
 
relevant products:
  • Optimizely X Web Experimentation
  • Optimizely X Web Personalization
  • Optimizely X Web Recommendations
  • Optimizely X Full Stack
  • Optimizely X Mobile
  • Optimizely X OTT

THIS ARTICLE WILL HELP YOU:
  • Set up user roles with various permissions in Optimizely X
  • Add or remove collaborators (users) to your account

In Optimizely X, users are called collaborators. Collaborators have different levels of permissions. Use the collaborator roles to manage access to your Optimizely X projects. They are especially useful when there are multiple people working on the same project or campaign.

The collaborator roles are:

  • Administrators have full access to all projects and account billing information. They can also add and remove other administrators. If you make someone an Administrator, they are one on every project. If you make an administrator anything else, they lose all privileges on other projects.

  • Editors can create and edit non-running campaigns. They can also view results.

  • Project Owners can create, edit, publish, and pause campaigns. A project can have more than one project owner. Project owners can also create new projects and invite editors and viewers to the project(s) they own.

  • Viewers can preview campaigns and view results.

Add a collaborator

Here's how to add a collaborator, with step-by-step instructions below:

  1. Navigate to the Settings dashboard.

  2. Select the Collaborators tab and click New Collaborator.

  3. Enter the collaborator's email address and select their role and language.

  4. Click Invite to multiple projects... and select the projects you want to invite the collaborator to.

  5. Click Invite.
     

Remove a collaborator

Here's how to remove a collaborator, with step-by-step instructions below:

  1. Navigate to the Settings dashboard.

  2. Select the Collaborators tab.

  3. Click the collaborator you want to remove.

  4. In the Collaborator Details panel at the right of the screen, click Delete.

  5. In the Remove From Account dialog box, click Remove From All Projects.

 

Features by collaborator role

 

 

Viewer

Editor

Project Owner

Administrator 

Experiments & Campaigns

View

X

X

X

X

 

Edit

 

X

X

X

 

Create

 

X

X

X

 

Publish

 

 

X

X

 

Pause and unpause

 

 

X

X

 

Archive and delete

 

 

X

X

Pages

View pages

X

X

X

X

 

Create pages

 

X

X

X

 

Edit and archive pages

   

X

X

Events and tags

View events

X

X

X

X

 

Create events

 

X

X

X

 

Edit and archive events

   

X

X

 

Create tags

 

X

X

X

 

Edit and archive tags

   

X

X

Audiences

View audiences

X

X

X

X

 

Create and edit audiences

 

X

X

X

Results

View results

X

X

X

X

Project Settings

Snippet settings

 

 

 

X

 

Add collaborators

   

X

X

*when not used in a running experiment